Review outlets
Review outlets: who chooses, who guarantees one, and who just delivers the copy.
Trade outlets choose which books they review, so coverage isn't guaranteed. Paid-review services guarantee a review, not praise. Advance-copy platforms get books to reviewers but don't review the books themselves. This directory keeps those models separate and shows who can submit, when, what it costs, and who may see the result.
This directory feeds the checklist step Build the trade review submission plan. Set a status on any outlet and it joins your checklist.
Still deciding whether to bother? How review submissions actually work and Is a paid review worth it work through it.
- Editorial consideration. Adult titles three months, preferably four, before the first day of the publication month; children's titles at least four months before publication. Submits: Publisher or freelance publicist through GalleyTracker; self-published or subsidized titles go through BookLife instead.Fee: $25 per title submitted for review consideration (effective March 24, 2025); publishers with a PW site-license subscription are exempt. The fee does not guarantee a review.Traditionally published
- Editorial consideration. Before or after publication; allow six to twelve weeks for a decision, so submit at least three months before you need a review in hand. Submits: The author, or a publicist working from the author's BookLife account.Fee: $25 per book submitted for Publishers Weekly review consideration. The fee does not guarantee a review.Self-publishedHybrid publisher
- Guaranteed paid review. Any time before or after publication; allow six weeks for delivery, or four weeks with the expedited option, plus up to one week of slack. Submits: The individual author or illustrator through a BookLife account.Fee: $399 per review. Expedited delivery (four weeks instead of six) costs extra; the surcharge was not stated on the guidelines page, so check the order form. Printing the review in Publishers Weekly is a separate optional purchase.Self-publishedHybrid publisher
- Editorial consideration. Prepublication. Booklist's current guidelines are not publicly readable, so no lead time is stated here. Do not calculate a deadline from a third-party figure.. Submits: Publisher.Fee: No fee is stated for an editorial review. Not confirmed on an official page, because the guidelines are not publicly readable.Traditionally publishedHybrid publisher
- Editorial consideration. Review copies should arrive about 6 months before publication. Submits: Publisher or an authorized submitter.No feeTraditionally publishedHybrid publisher
- Editorial consideration. Not stated on the official submissions page. Submit before publication, but do not calculate a deadline from a third-party figure.. Submits: Not stated in so many words. The process is publisher-facing: you request an account and upload titles..Fee: No fee is mentioned on the official submissions page.Traditionally publishedHybrid publisher
- Editorial consideration. Digital galley at least four to five months before the publication date. Submits: Publisher only; hybrid titles need a national distributor and must be submitted by the publisher.No fee for the editorial programTraditionally publishedHybrid publisher
- Guaranteed paid review. Any time before or after publication; allow seven to nine weeks for standard delivery, or four to six weeks for express. Submits: Author or independent publisher.Fee: Traditional review $450 standard or $599 express; Expanded review $599 standard or $750 express; Picture Book review $399 standard or $450 express (USD).All publishing paths
- Editorial consideration. At least four and a half months before publication; late submissions are not considered. Submits: Independent or university press, hybrid publisher, or an author whose book qualifies.No fee for magazine review considerationAll publishing paths
- Guaranteed paid review. Any time, including backlist. The official page says the four to six week turnaround starts when your book arrives. That is delivery time, not a deadline.. Submits: Author or publisher.Fee: $579 per review on the official Clarion page. A co-branded IngramSpark landing page shows a lower figure, so confirm the price at checkout if you came through a partner.All publishing paths
- Editorial consideration. Send a finished copy as soon as it is available and within three months of publication. Submits: Publisher.No feeTraditionally publishedHybrid publisher
- Editorial consideration. Primarily after publication for finished print books; allow 12 to 14 weeks for the free track. Prepublication files are accepted only with the $50 Reader Fee and take about 10 to 12 weeks.. Submits: Small press, self-published author, academic press, or publicist.Fee: Free for two finished print copies. A $50 Reader Fee applies to ebooks, PDF files, prepublication manuscripts, galleys, uncorrected proofs, and advance reader copies.All publishing paths
- Editorial consideration. Not published for audiobooks. Kirkus states a 4 to 5 month lead time for digital galleys and ebooks, but that line is not written about audio, so do not calculate an audiobook deadline from it.. Submits: Not stated for audiobooks. The Kirkus guidelines page addresses its other categories to publishers, but the audiobook line names only an editor and a file format..Fee: No fee is stated for audiobook submissions on the Kirkus guidelines page. Kirkus Indie, the paid service, does not review audiobooks.All publishing paths
- Editorial consideration. In advance of the publication date, preferably three months, in the words of the official page. Submits: Publishers, in the words of the official page.No feeTraditionally publishedHybrid publisher
- Editorial consideration. Review copies at least three months before the publication date. Submits: Publisher, including small and alternative presses.No feeTraditionally publishedHybrid publisher
- Advance-copy platform. List the title several months before release so review journals, library programs, and early readers can use it; four months or more is typical. Submits: Publisher, independent author (through NetGalley's author package or a partner account), or a marketing firm.Fee: Publishers pay a set-up fee and a monthly subscription based on the number of active titles; terms are provided on request. An independent-author package exists, and partner organizations offer single-title listings, but no per-title price is published on the official page.All publishing paths
- Advance-copy platform. Build into the prepublication sales cycle; post the DRC when the season's catalog goes live, typically four to six months before publication. Submits: Publisher or an authorized marketing contact with an Edelweiss+ publisher account.Fee: $200 annual subscription plus $90 per title uploaded (effective February 1, 2025). Audio review copies are included at no additional charge; discounted bundles are available on request.Traditionally publishedHybrid publisher
- Library recommendation program. Galley on Edelweiss+ or NetGalley at least two months before publication; nominations close on the first day of the month before the publication month. Submits: Library staff nominate; the publisher (or whoever controls the galley) makes the book available on Edelweiss+ or NetGalley and promotes awareness.Fee: No fee. Optional Publisher Partner packages exist but are not required for a book to be chosen.All publishing paths
