Editorial consideration
The Horn Book
Children's and young adult librarians, educators, and booksellers
In short
The Horn Book publishes two review outlets for children's and young adult books: a bimonthly magazine that covers a selective list of recommended titles, and a Guide that rates far more of each season's output. Youth librarians and award committees read both closely, so coverage puts a book in front of the people choosing what libraries buy and what gets considered for honors. The official page asks publishers to send new titles ahead of publication, preferably three months, as PDF files through its upload form; ask your publisher whether it did. The page says nothing either way about self-published titles.
Submission does not guarantee coverage. The outlet decides whether and what it publishes.
The Horn Book publishes two review vehicles for children's and young adult literature: The Horn Book Magazine, a bimonthly that reviews a selective list of recommended titles, and The Horn Book Guide, which rates a much larger share of the season's output. Both are read by children's librarians, teachers, and booksellers, and The Horn Book also runs the Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards.
The official submissions page says publishers should send submissions of appropriate new titles in advance of the publication date, preferably three months. It reviews children's and young adult books published in the United States, and says the Magazine reviews very selectively, roughly one hundred titles an issue, generally considering titles notable for high standards in plot, theme, characterization, and style.
Submission runs through a sign-up form that gives you an upload folder for PDF files. Print copies and advance reading copies are optional and go to the Center for the Study of Children's Literature at Simmons University in Boston.
The page does not state a fee, and it does not say anything either way about self-published titles.
Why it may matter
For a children's or young adult book, The Horn Book is one of the small set of review journals that youth librarians and award committees read closely. A magazine review is selective and prized; a Guide rating reaches a wide swath of library selectors. Submission does not guarantee coverage.
Do not confuse this with
Checked against the official submissions page. Confirmed: the three-month preference, the publisher framing, PDF upload through the sign-up form, the optional print copy address, the United States publication requirement, and the selectivity statement. Not confirmed, because the page does not state them: any fee, self-published eligibility, and whether anyone other than a publisher may submit. hbook.com (opens in a new tab) refused our automated request directly, so read the page yourself before you send anything. The Horn Book has no paid review track. The Magazine and the Guide are both editorial; the Guide simply covers more titles with shorter rated entries. Advertising in either is separate from review selection.
Rules and deadlines change. We last checked this information on September 14, 2026. If you see something that needs updating, please tell us.
Work at this outlet? Confirm or correct this record.
Use your work email. If it is on the domain the record already links to, we send you a link that opens the record for you to confirm or correct. Otherwise a person reads it and gets back to you.
